Louisville Ballet to present Romantic classic ‘La Sylphide’

La Sylphide imageOn Feb. 21 and 22, The Louisville Ballet will present “La Sylphide” in Whitney Hall at the Kentucky Center for the Arts.

While it may not get as much press as ballets like “Swan Lake” and “The Nutcracker,” “La Sylphide” is an important part of the classical canon. Its introduction of bold new Romantic themes put it on the cutting edge when it premiered back in 1832.

The ballet focuses on a Scottish lad and his adventures while chasing after his unattainable love: the titular sylph. Along the way there are fortune tellers, curses, jilted fiancés, jealous rivals, and lots of kilts.

Performances are Friday, Feb. 21, at 8p.m., and Saturday, Feb. 22, at 2 p.m. and 8p.m. Tickets are $30, and can be purchased from the Kentucky Center Box Office. 

About amanwalksintoablog

I'm an aspiring writer and I wear my ADD on my sleeve. I might wanna talk spaceships or comics books, or I might wanna break down my feelings on Politics. I may also want to share some of the creative work I'm trying to bang into shape. Nothing isn't worth a deeper look as I combine politics, rhetoric, and pop culture to look at the deeper meanings of things like Batman, Fantasy Novels, Twilight, or the lyrics to that new song I can't get out of my head. View all posts by amanwalksintoablog

Leave a comment