Kentucky Science Center woos adult visitors with DiSEXtion

KSCadultseries

In October 2012, Kentucky Science Center (KSC) threw its first “For Grown Ups” event. “ExBEERiment” drew an excited crowd of about 100, making it clear that the public has a thirst for the subject, and that adults aren’t afraid of a little edutainment.

Encouraged by this success, KSC planned an entire adult series: a trio of events that began with a second ExBEERiment in October 2013 that drew a crowd of nearly 500.

KSC continues the series from 6-10 p.m. this Thursday — on the eve of St. Valentine’s Day — this time taking into account the adage that “sex sells” with an event entitled DiSEXtion.

There will be sexual education videos four stories tall, showing on the science center’s brand new movie screen. Which sounded a little scary to me,  but I have been assured by KSC staff that these aren’t the terrifying videos of my childhood, more like the silly birds and bees filmstrips of a bygone age.

KSC will have “regional sexperts” on hand to give lectures. I don’t know how one becomes a “sexpert,” but I’m sure there was a respectable vetting process.

Visitors will have the chance to evaluate whether or not their dance moves are sexy, using some of the latest scientific research. Hopefully no feelings will get hurt.

There will also be food trucks and a cash bar.

BEER+Science=Fun, from KSC's flickr feed

BEER+Science=Fun, from KSC’s flickr feed

All kidding aside, the KSC takes its mission seriously. “(We) think science is relevant and important to people of all ages,” says KSC executive director Jo Haas.

Haas went on to discuss the “gap” in KSC’s visitors age range. Kids obviously enjoy the hijinks and fun, and many parents and grandparents have rediscovered the myriad joys at the center.

But what about all those twenty- and thirty-somethings who have yet to spawn? What about the hipsters and D.I.N.K.s who aren’t planning on having kids at all?

It’s this demographic that the KSC is trying to reach.

Events like ExBEERiment and DiSEXtion are only a part of the plan. There is a hope that these events will “draw (people) that haven’t been here in a long time, and they’ll think, ‘I should come back,'” Haas says.

And once they have come back, they may engage with the KSC in one of the less flashy events. The museum hosts adult discussion groups, encouraging the community to interact and talk about important topics ranging from global clean water to childhood obesity. When subjects are controversial, the KSC is “not taking a side, just providing a venue.”

The KSC also has the opportunity to screen scientifically important events, thanks to their new RealD movie screen. Last week they presented the debate between Bill Nye and Ken Ham, free to the public.

In other words, come for the SEX and the BEER, and stay to learn about important topics that greatly effect our modern world.

DiSEXtion is this Thursday, Feb. 13, from 6 to 10 p.m. Admission is $10 for members, $15 for non-members.

About amanwalksintoablog

I'm an aspiring writer and I wear my ADD on my sleeve. I might wanna talk spaceships or comics books, or I might wanna break down my feelings on Politics. I may also want to share some of the creative work I'm trying to bang into shape. Nothing isn't worth a deeper look as I combine politics, rhetoric, and pop culture to look at the deeper meanings of things like Batman, Fantasy Novels, Twilight, or the lyrics to that new song I can't get out of my head. View all posts by amanwalksintoablog

Leave a comment