Kentuckians for the Commonwealth raises awareness with Louisville Loves Mountains Week

from KFTC's Flicker page

from KFTC’s Flicker page

The nonprofit Kentuckians for the Commonwealth is hoping to raise awareness and show legislators that Louisville Loves Mountains with a trio of events leading up to I Love Mountains Day on Feb. 12.

I Love Mountains Day is a yearly event that encourages Kentuckians to travel to Frankfort and reach out to their legislators in an attempt to “call attention to the scale of destruction created by mountaintop removal coal mining in Kentucky,” according to the website.

The first event aimed at getting eco-conscious Louisvillians pumped was postponed yesterday due to inclement weather. “From Louisville to Appalachia: Celebrating Our Common Heritage” will highlight the lives and art of African Americans in Appalachia and celebrate “the unique and natural beauty, ecological importance, and cultural heritage of Kentucky’s Appalachian Mountains,” according to KFTC.org.

The rescheduled event will be held at Hillbilly Tea, and we’ll update this post with the details as soon as they are forthcoming.

On Thursday, Feb. 6, Four Sisters will host a poster-making party from 6-9 p.m. Show up and make posters for the march on Frankfort — KFTC will provide the poster paints, you provide the indignation.

(Photo courtesy of Four Sisters Facebook page)

(Photo courtesy of Four Sisters Facebook page)

And have a latte, because Four Sisters knows what they are doing behind that espresso machine.

The Clifton Center gets in on the action on Friday, Feb. 7., at 7 p.m. with the premier of “Appalachia 2050.”

The documentary takes an in-depth look at the various changes that coal has brought to rural Kentucky, with a specific focus on “interviews with Eastern Kentuckians affected by coal mining,” according to the website.

About amanwalksintoablog

I'm an aspiring writer and I wear my ADD on my sleeve. I might wanna talk spaceships or comics books, or I might wanna break down my feelings on Politics. I may also want to share some of the creative work I'm trying to bang into shape. Nothing isn't worth a deeper look as I combine politics, rhetoric, and pop culture to look at the deeper meanings of things like Batman, Fantasy Novels, Twilight, or the lyrics to that new song I can't get out of my head. View all posts by amanwalksintoablog

Leave a comment